The procedure for closing a project depends on whether that project has Revenue or not.
How to close a project with Revenue
The prerequisite to closing a project with Revenue is that all of the Revenue was invoiced. That means that the invoiced total (Billing) is equal to the overall budget (Revenue).
If a project fulfills this condition, a confirmation prompt will appear after the Finish Project button is clicked.
What happens when closing a project that isn’t fully invoiced
Clicking the Finish Project button will display a warning message, including the amount still waiting to be invoiced.
What happens when the project is closed anyway
The project will be marked as fully invoiced and moved from running projects to finished projects.
What happens when the project is kept open
You’ll be returned to the project Billing tab.
How to close a project with no budget (Revenue)
In the majority of cases, this concerns:
- internal projects that only generate expenses
- tenders that you lost and that only generated costs
Clicking the Finish Project button will only display a confirmation prompt.
What happens when I finish the project?
The project will get closed and will be moved from running projects to finished projects. It won’t be possible to edit it and people won’t be able to track time or edit their timesheets in this project anymore.
Editing closed projects
Closed projects can be re-opened anytime by clicking the Re-Open Project button in the project page.
Clicking the button will display a confirmation prompt.
Re-opening the project will:
- automatically move the project from finished projects to running projects
- make the project available for time tracking and timesheet editing
Closing projects through Slack
If there’s a developer on your team, have him study the documentation on implementing Costlocker with Slack – for example to close projects using a simple Slack command. Read more on this on our GitHub.